NaNoWriMo: The stretch

newengland_muse

I know I have been quiet. NaNo has kept me busy like it does every year that I work on the frenzy. I been fortunate that the story has been writing itself, literally. There is a lot to be said about writing on what you know.

In my story I picked a region that I am familiar with and a culture as well. You don’t have to know everything in your book when you start, all you need is a thought or idea to carry it through. If you infuse a topic that you are familiar in all one has to do is wrap words around that thought. Yes I am making it sound easy. That isn’t what I am saying. By writing on something you know or are familiar with, you are making it easier to write.

This is what I have embraced in the book:

-My French heritage

-Northern Maine living

-Christian

-Persecution

You can write a lot when you use any of those topics let alone all of them like I have done in my book, “Lost Faith” that is being written for NaNoWriMo 2013. I already know when the 50k words are done, the book will be not complete. I will need to keep on going to make things go full circle. But I do like where it is going. That’s another thing. If you enjoy the book you are writing it is not work not in the sense people might think it.

My word count as of today gets me 11k shy of my 50k word count. I will take a few days off when I reach it to give my hands, neck and shoulders a break from it all. But after that will add to it.

I do enjoy NaNoWriMo where my sole goal is to win and worry about the book later. But when you are enjoying the book as it develops that is just icing on the cake.

15 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: The stretch”

  1. Same here Jo Ann. I am still editing/revising the books that won in 2011 and 2012. Plus when I am done NaNo I still need to add another 25k words at least I think to it. But like you said well, at least we will have a rough draft.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.